Write it out.

For me, words have always been easier to communicate through my writing. Besides my near constant laughter, I’mBananagrams letters, "What to write?" generally on the quiet side. I used to write long entries in my journal every day but then stumble through a nerve-wracking speech in class.

This is why I’m more likely to laugh at your jokes (whether they’re funny or not) than to come up with something funny to say on my own.

I enjoy applying my love of writing to the creative projects I tackle through scrapbooking. Whether I write down my thoughts or simply what happened in the photos I choose to include in my layouts, I think journaling is very important when documenting everyday life.

Pencils and pens jumbled togetherJournaling, however, can be a daunting task. What thoughts should I document? Are my personal ideas too private for the eyes of future generations? How much should I write?

Journal entries don’t have to be lengthy. The phrase, “a picture is worth a thousand words,” is true in many scrapbook layouts, so even short and simple writing is often sufficient.

In fact, simple, concise writing is essential in the field of public relations. Books on PR and grammar

Although public relations careers require striking speaking skills that I continue to work on, the field also entails excellent writing skills. Below are some tips for concise writing and clear communication:

  1. Know your message. What are you really trying to say? Provide just enough information to help readers or listeners understand what you are trying to communicate.
  2. Know your audience. Tailor your writing to meet its needs. Remember your audience is wondering, “What’s in it for me?”
  3. Get to the point. Run-on sentences don’t cut it. I’m a long-winded writer, but I’ve learned to keep my writing short and simple.
  4. List the most important facts first and highlight key messages, particularly in press releases.
  5. Use bullet points and subheads. Bold the subheads. B r e a k u p your information to improve readability.
  6. You must spell words correctly and proofread your work. Deciding to edit your writing can be the difference between getting hired and losing a job. Check out “The The Impotence of Proofreading” by Taylor Mali: 
  7. Although “a picture is worth a thousand words,” sometimes your stories can mean just as much as the photos you decide to include in publications and even scrapbooks.

If you struggle with journaling in your scrapbooks, try these techniques and tips:

  1. Find your inspiration. Listen to some music to jog your memory or write down words you think relate to the topic you’re scrapbooking. iPod dock playing music
  2. Write often. Be playful with your journaling. Accept Dare #174 from the writers at www.efferdares.com.
  3. Struggling a bit? Improve your journaling by trying a writing exercise on the Creating Keepsakes Feb. 9 blog post.
  4. Try different pens and writing utensils. write.click.scrapbook bloggers experimented with Jet Pens in a Feb. 10 post.
  5. Into digital scrapbooking? Download a free font every Friday from Creating Keepsakes.

So what do you like to journal about in your scrapbooks? How do you decide what to write about?

As for public relations students and professionals, with which writing techniques do you have issues?

Leave a comment

Filed under Journaling, Public Relations, Scrapbooking, Writing

Leave a Reply

