What handmade means to you

I made my first “In Sympathy” card this weekend for a family friend whose father passed away last week. Although I think handmade cards always mean more than store bought cards, I felt more caring and generous as I made the “In Sympathy” card. The

Has anyone else ever felt the same way while making cards for several different purposes?

I’m curious about others’ approaches to card making. Like scrapbooks, handmade cards have special meanings to those who make and receive them. The creators don’t spend all that time crafting each detail for nothing.

I find myself thinking about a birthday celebration with the person to receive the birthday card I’m creating as I find papers, embellishments and other materials to use for the card. What is that person like? What are his or her favorite colors? How would he or she celebrate a birthday? Christmas? What does he or she find most comforting?

The same goes for holiday cards. Lately I’ve tried to use similar designs for many cards to avoid the stress of creating one-of-a-kind cards; however, I often think about who will receive each individual card and its design/color scheme/message beforehand.

Think about the moment the recipient opens your card as well. Would he or she rather receive a funny store bought card or a cute, sentimental handmade card? How do you feel when you receive a birthday or holiday card? Does it depend on who gives you the card and for which purpose?

Another question: Do you make cards for specific people based on their interests and personalities? Or do you make mass quantities of cards and pick from the stock pile when your friends’ and family members’ birthdays come along?

I’m constantly thinking about ways to improve my card making approach, so any and all suggestions are welcome!

Leave a comment

Filed under Handmade cards

Leave a Reply

