Refreshed

Water, refreshment

Refreshing.

The sun is shining and there’s a slight, cool breeze in the air – it’s the perfect day to step back and appreciate all that’s good right now.

For one, March begins this Thursday. This means I will graduate in a little more than two months. I’m excited to start this next stage of my life, wherever I end up and no matter the job I’m placed with. I’ll miss Kent State; I’ve had a great four years with the people I’ve met during my college experience. But I’m confident I’ll continue those relationships for many years to come.

I’m proud of myself for keeping up with a healthier lifestyle so far this year. I try my best to make a trip to the rec on most days of the week and when I can’t, I try a little harder to watch what I’m eating. I feel more energized. I feel more motivated to get things done (sometimes). And I’m starting to see the physical results of my effort, and that feels good, too.

Recently I’ve developed a slight addiction to Pinterest. Sure, you can argue the site is a major time suck. (“Do you really have the time to try all those delicious recipes and craft projects?”) But I like the site’s format. I like organizing my pins into separated boards by category. I like how I can bookmark so many ideas for weeks, months, even years to come. Who knows if I’ll ever make those Girl Scout Thin Mint Cookie Cupcakes– and do I really need the calories anyway? But at least the recipe is somewhere I can find it when the time comes to start something new.

Amy as Mabel, from "The Pirates of Penzance"

My cousin Amy and I, with my new haircut, after Amy's lead performance as Mabel in Theodore Roosevelt High School's "The Pirates of Penzance."

I tried a new thing with my hair this month: I chopped most of it off. I didn’t plan it; I just needed something different, something I decided that day. I finally decided to let my hairdresser Andy take off 7 inches, and I haven’t been disappointed with it since then. It feels refreshing to have shorter hair, not to mention I’ll use about a third less shampoo and conditioner from now on!

My new hair has somewhat inspired me to look at life with a new perspective. Sometimes it’s necessary – and fun – to take risks and try something different than your normal routine. When Andy suggested I chop my hair off, I figured just because my hair has been long my whole life doesn’t mean I can’t change that now. This next new stage of my life is fast approaching, and I couldn’t be more excited to feel refreshed from the experience. I can already hear birds chirping outside, which makes me happy to know that spring is coming soon. (Allegedly: I do live in NE Ohio.) And spring seems to make everything feel more refreshing.

I’d like to refresh my thoughts on this blog as well. As I transition into some life changes within the next few months, I’d like to record my thoughts within my posts, as well as my scrapping adventures. I used to write in a journal every day but my schedule doesn’t allow me the time to do that as often anymore. So I’ll keep all the scraps of my life here, in one place. I’m looking forward to what I’ll experience in the coming months.

Scrappin’ Update:

The two graduation gifts I’m working on are coming along. This weekend I felt a bit anxious because I realized how many photos I have to use – and that’s after I picked through all the ones we have at home. I know I’ll get everything done, but the books will certainly take a lot of time and patience!

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

2 responses to “Refreshed

  1. pretty good insights. I’ll be sure to stop by and read more from you. thanks.

  2. Pingback: The Everyday Scraps | Scraps of the Soul

Leave a Reply

