A Start

Apparently two viewings of The Nutcracker in one weekend put me in the mood to start my Christmas cards last night.

I started with the envelopes:

20121203-123414.jpg
Following a design I found on Pinterest, I used the giant mug I painted at All Fired Up! to trace half circles along the bottom right corner of each envelope.

20121203-123633.jpg
Instead of painting the green wreaths on each envelope and waiting for them to dry, I used two green shades of my watercolor markers. I like the way the colors blended together!

20121203-123807.jpg
Next I moved on to the cards. (I’ve counted 76 recipients, but I’ll make 80 just in case!)

Using the green cardstock I bought at Hollo’s last month, I cut half circles to fold into the Christmas trees for the front of each card.

20121203-124237.jpg
I opened another find on Pinterest to create each tree. Although the folding part was tricky to master based on the photo I found, I kept trying slightly different techniques until I found a method that worked well.

80 paper Christmas trees later, I’m off to a good start!

20121203-124537.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Handmade cards

Leave a Reply

