Shear Perfection?

Sometimes my paper cutter and I don’t get along.

I’ll admit, it’s probably about that time to replace the blade for a sharper one. The current one has survived a huge batch of Christmas cards and then some.

20130303-214226.jpgHowever, I can’t help but be irritated when the blade snags the edge of the paper, neglects to complete a clean cut or merely perforates the edge.

The good news: With a bit of extra thought and creativity, you can cover up the little rips and tears you suffer from using a crummy blade.

For example, I added a bit extra to this birthday card in the effort to cover up a tear on one edge of the card stock I used for a border:

20130303-213139.jpg
I didn’t want to show a mistake on the final product, but I didn’t want to put the card to waste and start over, either.

20130303-213600.jpg
Good as new! I hadn’t planned on going with that particular design when I started creating the card, but I think it works.

20130303-213738.jpg
Have you ever had to try a new direction with a project because the original design didn’t go as planned? Share your quick scrapping fixes in the comments below!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

